Westfield, Maplewood and Kittatinny were crowned champions of the North Jersey Junior Lacrosse League on Championship Saturday, June 1 on the turf at Dawson Field in Towaco.

Westfield defeated Randolph 13-6 in the Northern New Jersey AAA Division Lacrosse championships.


Dan Cano had four goals and two assists, Pat Ryan fired a hat trick and Ryan Waldman scored twice for Westfield which also received goals from Paul Tilyou, Anthony Buoscio, Michael Mehler and Dylan Wragg. Goalkeeper Randy Wojcik made eight saves.

Adri Kuliqui had two goals and an assist and Stefan Swedlund scored twice for Randolph. Sean Clark and Nick Marovitz also tallied for Randolph.


Westfield controlled the game from beginning by scoring eight consecutive goals and shutting out Randolph during the first half. Randolph didn't get on the board until Clark's goal at 8:36 of the third quarter to make it 8-1. Twice Randolph cut its deficit to six goals but could not get any closer.


In the AA Division match Maplewood defeated Livingston 13-4. Sumner Verdun and Jonah Walpov registered hat tricks. Mike Perez had two goals and three assists, Cole Abel scored twice and Jordan Fishman and Dale Pickard also added goals for Maplewood. Stanley Labady scored twice and Ari Oritman added a goal for Livingston. Maplewood broke off to a quick lead with five consecutive first-quarter goals. Livingston didn't get on the board until Labady scored his first goal with 6:55 left in the second quarter. Maplewood built an 8-1 advantage and played a strong defensive game the rest of the way.


In the most exciting finish of the day, Mike Zoellner connected off an assist from Chris Casale with four seconds left in regulation to lift Kittatinny to an 11-10 victory over Tenafly in the Class A final. Kittatinny rallied from a 10-4 deficit and tied the game on a goal by Luke Festa with 38 seconds remaining in regulation. Zoellner scored twice and had three assists on the game. Chris Casale had three assists for Kittatinny.

Emmet Goldberg had five goals, Cooper Kurtz had three goals and one assist, Alex Plotkin scored twice and Aidan McGrady had a pair of assists for Tenafly.


The North Jersey Junior Lacrosse League is the officially recognized youth lacrosse league affiliated with US Lacrosse, and its local chapter, the NJ Lacrosse Foundation. The league is governed by its own executive committee and operates by an adopted set of rules and regulations.




Print Print | Sitemap Recommend this page Recommend this page
© North Jersey Junior Lacrosse League

This website was created using 1&1 IONOS MyWebsite.